Socks, socks, socks! A couple hats, too.

DSC_0959

One of Alex’s Vday LOVE coupons was for a winter hat. Oddly enough, I don’t think I’ve ever knit him anything before. He always knit his own winter hats. He requested cables, and we chose Hunter by tincanknits. The yarn is Malabrigo Rios and was super lovely to knit.

DSC_0968DSC_0964

Well after knitting him a hat, I was super jealous and had some Brooklyn Tweed Shelter (Fossil colorway) in my stash. This simple hat is called Snöflinga by Jenny Gordy. The bobbles were so much fun to knit. The pom pom is by Bernat and is faux. I got it on Amazon for very little money. When I got it, it was HUGE and kind of hard and heavy. So, I cut it open and took out all of the stuffing, and then cut away some of the excess fabric. Then I sewed it back together. Much better.

DSC_1055

Ok Ok. Onto the socks. This is my fourth pair for the #boxosoxkal in association with the Yarngasm Podcast. Pattern: Slipt by Clare Devine. Yarn: SweetGeorgia Yarns Twinkle Sock in Neverland. 50% Merino, 50% Tencel. Since these are FINALLY done, I realized I will not be knitting another pair of patterned socks until Linus is a bit older. With an 18 round repeat, these aren’t the most conducive to picking up and putting down or memorizing. Still, I am absolutely DYING to try the Fine and Dandy Socks by The Sweater Co. and Hermione’s Everyday Socks by Erica Lueder. The latter may just be simple enough to cast on with a baby in the house. We’ll see.

DSC_1058

My current HO is my 5th pair for the #boxosoxkal. Its’s my 3rd pair of Rose City Rollers by Mara Catherine Bryner because I just cannot get enough of this pattern. I LOVE how it looks with crazy colored indie yarns. This yarn is Three Irish Girls Adorn Luxe in the Rocket Man colorway.

And I almost forgot that I finished my dad’s birthday socks. They are  from a custom pattern I created based on his foot measurements, and preferences for heel and toe. The yarn is Three Irish Girls Adorn Sock in the To the Moon and Back colorway.

12747701_220344878319074_246419950_n_medium2

PS: Look how BIG Linus is getting! Can you believe it?

Leave a Reply

