Knitted Gifts

At some point during my pregnancy, I got tired of knitting baby stuff. I think it was autumn. I wanted longer projects. I would have loved to knit a myself a jumper from Pom Pom Quarterly, but I wasn’t interested in doing a whole bunch shaping for the growing baby bump only to wear it for a couple of months. So I knit a few gifts for people.

IMG_1589_medium2

Mom’s Birthday – I asked Mom what she wanted  me to knit her and gave a couple of options. She chose a scarf. I haven’t actually knit a scarf in forever. Unfortunately, I had just fallen in love with Winterlong by Bristol Ivy, but it’s a cowl! I looked through some of the past projects on Rav and found a user with notes about converting it to a scarf. I followed their directions. Once I finished, I realized that I probably could have done it seamlessly if I hadn’t been so hasty to cast on. The yarn I used was Amano Yarns Warmi in a cream colorway. It was so, so soft. I definitely want to knit with this yarn again.

IMG_20151212_103307-1_medium2

Janet’s Birthday – I also asked Janet (my step-mom) what she wanted for her birthday in November and gave her a couple of options. She wanted socks (yay!), so I knit her up a pair called Mirkwood by Rebecca Wilder. It’s a lovely pattern, but was published in chunks for a kal, so that was a bit annoying. I tried some new sock yarn: Done Roving Yarns Frolicking Feet, which is 100% merino. Since I didn’t have her foot measurements, I had to estimate and convert to cm using her shoe size and information from the Craft Yarn Council. It worked out perfectly (THANK GOD)! For Christmas I got the book Custom Socks to Fit Your Feet, so I won’t ever have to estimate again once I get everyone’s feet measurements!

DSC_0762_medium2

A Thank You Present – My SIL Teagan was so, so, so nice to illustrate invitations for my baby shower. And she wouldn’t let us compensate her, so I knit her a hat. The pattern is There’s a Rabbit on my Head by Stephen West. Yarn: Ístex Létt-Lopi. Two of the colorways she brought back from Iceland. The other few I had in my stash. I actually knit a second one of these in slightly different colors for a coworker who was moving away because the first one was so much fun.

DSC_0753_medium2

The Hat That Was Too Small – I fell in love with this pattern Screaming Floral by Thea Eschliman and decided I had to have it. I bought some yarn, Malabrigo Yarn Arroyo, but didn’t realize that it was a sport weight yarn. Oops. Anyway, the hat came out too small. It just kept slipping off my head. My coworker has a young daughter (with a smaller head than me) who has a love for fiber arts, so I gave it to her! I bought some Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in colors that are higher contrast (so you can see the design better) to make another, larger one for myself. Hopefully soon!

Ornaments – I started watching the A Homespun House podcast with Molly. I LOVE IT, and totally want A Homespun House project bag SO BADLY. I can’t wait for the next shop update. It’s also pretty cool that she’s originally from Wisconsin, like me. There was a meetup going on in late December, but I had just given birth, so I wasn’t in attendance. The podcast inspired me to knit some ornaments for the holiday season, though, for the KAL. These were gifted to one of my aunts for Christmas.

Alright, so now you’re almost caught up on all of my knitting. There is one more long-standing project to introduce in another post, on another day.

Happy Knitting!

2 comments

  1. robyn1010

    I WANT WANT WANT WANT WANT a There’s a Rabbit on my Head Hat!!! (and my ears are so cold this January)! What do you think? Can you make your old mother one? Love the colorways in the picture!!! Pretty Please??? I will babysit Linus a lot for you!!!

  2. Meredith Mattson

    I love the hat you gave me Maribeth! I wear it every time I take Leif out for a walk (when it’s not too cold for him). I think of you every time I out it on! Hope all is well with you, Alex, and Linus. 😉

Leave a Reply

