Sólja

DSC_0539DSC_0556

Pattern: Sólja by Anna Maltz in Pom Pom Quarterly, Issue 8: Spring 2014

Yarn: Navia Trio

I think this is my most favorite thing I’ve ever knit. I finished and blocked it last week after only about 12 days of knitting and finishing work. My mom is already asking for one, and since this pattern is so much fun, I’m definitely looking forward to knitting another. The yarn is a very wooly blend of Shetland and Faroese wool, which blocks nicely and is super warm, meaning I’ll be wearing this to work once a week.

The pattern is knit in pieces from the bottom up, and then the sleeves are joined to the body at the yoke and is knit in one piece from there. There is minimal seaming under the arms, which was pretty simple as there was mostly stockinette around the seam-area.

I went down two needle sizes in order to obtain gauge. The first swatch I knit only one needle size down. I usually do this because I knit loosely. I met row gauge, but not stitch gauge with that swatch. So I went down another needle size and cast on. This worked out well, however, since now my row gauge was off, I did end up knitting one extra repeat of the lace pattern on the body. Fortunately, that was the only modification I had to make. The rest was perfect, despite the row gauge difference.

Although I knit the size 1, I did only end up using about 6 skeins of the gray instead of 7. I bought 8 because I was planning on possibly knitting a size between 1 and 2. Anyway, now I have some extra yarn to stash. In the natural white, I was concerned at the end that I would run out, but I had just enough to squeak by, with a few yards extra.

I think the most difficult part about the sweater was the 3-color portions. This only ended up being 6 rows, so I managed. The thing that made it hard was remembering when to carry the floats for all three yarns. Initially, I had decided to carry floats if there was more than 4 stitches between colors (so if there were 5 stitches between, I’d carry the float on the 3rd stitch, in the center of the strand –does that make sense?). This meant a lot of float carrying, especially in the 3-color portion of the largest flowers, but I mapped out a plan and did it. And of course I was just way too stubborn to just do 2-color for those rows and then add the yellow with duplicate stitch.

Alright so onto the next projects – more socks! Here is the yarn I’m planning to use.

DSC_0604

DSC_0600

This last one is the April SGY Club I received this month, and it is SO soft.

2 comments

  1. Robyn Davis

    Yep! I can’t wait for you to knit me my Solja! Yours is so lovely!!! I think I won the Mom lottery – having a daughter who is an amazing knitter!!

  2. AndreSue

    That last yarn is intriguing! I’ve never used a yarn yak. When I picture the animal, I don’t think of soft fur but that ball of yarn looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

