soft mitts

20140812_110008

20140812_110058

20140812_110350

Pattern: Leydon by Alicia Plummer

Yarn: Acadia by The Fibre Company

These mitts were a remarkably quick knit. I started them on Sunday. The tweedy-ness of the Acadia gives them an almost rustic aesthetic, which really will be perfect for the autumn season approaching (even if it is a little much for my recent fling with minimalism). Despite the easy pattern, I still managed to learn 2 different techniques with this project. 1. Fisherman’s Rib. This is a super squishy rib with which I have fallen in love. I definitely will use it on a pattern in the future. 2. Tubular Bind-off – a very slick way to bind off a ribbed pattern when you don’t want to lose flexibility. Yay, progress!

If I were to knit these again, I’d probably use a yarn that had better stitch definition so the pattern stuck out more clearly. Really, though, I have no complaints. The Fibre Company’s Acadia yarn is 60% Merino, 20% Silk, and 20% Alpaca. This combination is super duper soft, light, and warm. I’m sure they’ll be perfect for my chilly computer hands at work.

Also, Tuesdays off are the BEST thing ever! I couldn’t ask for a better day off during the week.

PS: Did I mention I got a tattoo last February while I was in NY? I love it. I can’t wait to get another! I’ve been seriously obsessed with the show Ink Master lately.

20140812_110537

Leave a Reply

