Deco Murry

me

 

front left

 

frontbutton

insidepanel

 

back

 

Pattern: Deco Cardigan

by Kate Davies

OMG. I’m finally done with this cardigan!  I started it so long ago (in September 2012).  I have to say, I love it.  I’m pretty proud of myself for this one.  I actually completely finished on Tuesday night, but it’s been kept under wraps.

Murry was my nickname in middle/high school.  I loved that nickname so I named the sweater after it.  Nobody calls me Murry anymore… sigh.  (hint!hint!hint!)

Mod1: I replaced the full collar with an i-cord edging.  I was running out of yarn, so I had to do it (given my non-existent budget to buy more yarn).  I actually like how it turned out a lot and I wouldn’t change it.

Mod 2: I continued the i-cord off the edge and made a loop for the single button.  This sweater wouldn’t flatter me if I wore it closed.  The reason: it’s a bit snug.  It will close comfortably, but it’s too tight for my taste.  Therefore, I only did the top button.  It saved me more $$, too.

Sewing: I used the blind/slip stitch to attach the fabric to the inside edges.  I was dreading this part so much.  I love the fabric I chose, and I adore that it turned out so well.  You can’t see ANY of the stitches. Whew! What a relief.

If you look at the last pic on the left side of the cardigan near the bottom, you can almost see the burned stitch.  I still have to duplicate stitch over the top of that.  I keep forgetting.  It was burned by some Christmas lights (through the project bag!) over the holidays.  Thankfully nothing else was ruined (except a few marks on the carpet)/nobody was hurt.  Needless to say, those lights have been thrown out.

Comments are always appreciated!

7 comments

  1. robyn1010

    This sweater is amazing! Your work is so beautiful and the fabric you picked for the lining is perfect!! I love the collar! Would you help me make this for myself? Please!!!

  2. kfklever

    Ah! you finished it! It looks amazing!! I’m jealous that you put a facing on the button band, it looks so cute 🙂

  3. Rebe

    Looking good, Murry! ; ) I can try to bring it back — over the years “MB” just kind of took over…

    I really like the candid-ness of the first picture, even if it was posed.

  4. Knitknat21

    I am sure it took you a long time (needless to say $$$) but I just wanted to commend your work. I would pay you to write instructions for all your sweaters. You are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!

Leave a Reply

